Georgia Exemptions

In Georgia, there are two sets of exemptions, constitutional and statutory.  The exemption laws were enacted just after the Civil War and have not kept pace with modern times.  Georgia allows you to exempt up to $5,000 worth of your personal property (non-cash) and $21,500 in any real property used as your primary residence under the constitutional exemption.  O.C.G.A. § 44-13-1 [FN 1].  In addition to the $5,000, the debtor can also exempt up to $300 worth of kitchen and … Continued

North Carolina Exemptions

To collect on a judgment in North Carolina, a creditor is required to have the sheriff serve the debtor with two pieces of paper – one is a “Notice of Rights to Have Exemptions Designated” and the other is a “Motion to Claim Exempt Property.”  These are very very important.  If you receive this do not ignore it because if you do not claim your statutory exemptions by timely filing the motion with the court, then they are considered waived … Continued

Pennsylvania Exemptions

While Pennsylvania does not have wage garnishment, see 42 Pa.C.S.A. § 8127, Pennsylvania is the least generous of all the states when it comes to exemptions.  There is no homestead exemption in Pennsylvania like there is in other states.  Nor is there an exemption for a motor vehicle.  To claim these exemptions, a debtor would have to file bankruptcy and select the federal bankruptcy exemptions.  The federal bankruptcy exemptions ONLY apply in bankruptcy; if you are not filing bankruptcy then you do … Continued